Liam O'Flynn (born 1950)

Irish player of uilleann pipes, playing mainly traditional tunes.

(Liam has recorded with Planxty, Enya, James Keane and Kate Bush) (Arty McGlynn has also recorded with Patrick Street, De Danann, Enya, Van Morrison and Matt Molloy)
(The Voice Squad have recorded solo)
(Seane Keane has recorded with the Chieftains and with Matt Molloy and solo)
(Rita Connolly has recorded solo)
(Shaun Davey has released albums as an orchestral composer)

Solo Albums.

Liam O'Flynn1988 Own LabelLOF1 
The Fine Art of Piping1991 Celtic MusicCDCM054
The Given Note1995 Tara3034
The Piper's Call1999 Tara3037 

Liam O'Flynn and Shaun Davey.

The Brendan Voyage1980 Tara3006 
The Pilgrim1983Tara3011
Granuaile1985 Tara3016
Relief of Derry Symphony1990 Tara3024 
Out To An Other Side1993TaraCD 3031

Best albums(*).

The Brendan Voyage 1980

(*)Based on critical opinion.

Popular downloads.

The Winter's End
The Westwind
An Droichead (The Bridge)
By The River of Gems
Romeo's Exile

Various artists - Bert Jansch, Richard Thompson, Anne Briggs, Liam O'Flynn and Karine Polwart.

Title. year. Label. No.
The Wildlife Album vol 2 [Live in Hope] 2006    

Anthology - Nollaig Casey, Davy Spillane, Begley & Cooney, Ronnie Drew, Sharon Shannon, Liam O'Flynn, Dé Dannan, Anúna, Eileen Ivers et al.

Title. year. Label. number.
L'Imaginaire Irlandais (*) 1996 Keltia Musique KMCD63 

(* one track only - "O'Rourke's/ The Merry Sisters/ Colonel Fraser" from "The Given Note".)

Anthology - various artists including Liam O'Flynn, Mick O'Brien, Ronan Browne, Robbie Hannan and Sean Potts.

Title. year. Label. No
The Drones and the Chanters Vol 2 1994Claddagh CC61CD

Anthology - Various artists including Liam O'Flynn

Title. year. Label. no
Bringing It All Back Home - The Influence of Irish Music 1991BBC 884

Anthology - Various artists including Dolores Keane, Liam O'Flynn, Lee Valley String Band, Ricky Skaggs and Richard Thompson.

Title. year. Label. number
Bringing It All Back Home Vol 2 1999Valley VE 150 12 CD


Come West Along the Road  - Irish Tradition Music(*) 2007 
Piper's Choice Vol 1 (**)2009 
(* Archive footage from RTE. One Track only - Frieze Britches)
(** Liam O'Flynn, Tommy Keane, Ronan Browne)

Album Tracks.

Out To Another Side Running Time: ? minutes ? seconds. Released in 1993.Liam O'Flynn (uillean pipes in D C# and C, whistle), Bill Dowdall (flute and piccolo), Matthew Manning (oboe and cor anglais), Carl Geraghty (tenor saxophone), Fergus O'Carroll (French horn), Graham Hastings (trumpet and flugelhorn), Noel Eccles (percussion), Arty McGlynn (guitar), Des Moore (guitar), Helen Davies (Irish harp) Sean Keane (violin), Nollaig Casey (violin and viola), Adele O'Dwyer (cello), Joe Czibi jnr (double bass), Rod McVey (synthesizer), Peter Connolly (electric bass), Steve Cooney (electric bass), Paul McAteer (drums) . "The Voice Squad" (Phil Callary, Fran McPhail and Gerry Cullen) sing on "After Aughrim's Great Disaster". Rita Connolly swings on "The Dean's Pamphlet". Orchestral arrangements by Shaun Davey.

Title Author
1. The Foxchase (instr) Trad
2. The Wild Geese (instr) Sean Davey and Liam O'Flynn
3. The Dean's Pamphlet (song) Words: Joanthan Swift/ Tune: trad
4. Gynt at the Gate (instr) Sean Davey
5. The Winter's End (instr) Sean Davey
6. After Aughrim's Great Disaster (song) Trad
7. Blackwell's (instr) Sean Davey
8. Ar Buach na Laoi (song) Trad
9. Lady Dillon (instr) Turlough O'Carolan
10. Dollards and The Harlequin Hornpipes (instr) Trad
11. Sean O Duibhir a Ghleanna (instr) Trad

The Pilgrim Running Time: ? minutes ? seconds. Recorded on August 8th 1983 at the Lorient Interceltic Festival.. Released in 1994. Bernard Pichard (bombarde), Helen Davies (harp), Rita Connolly (vocal), Cor Gord'rer Garth (choir), Josik Allot (bombarde), Wallacestone Pipe Band, Iarla O'Lionaird (vocal), Liam O'Flynn (uillean pipes), Ursula Connolly (vocal), Inez Connolly (vocal), John Drummond (vocal), John Curran (vocal), Shaun Davey (vocal), Vincente Manuel Tunas Leis (Gallician gaita), Carlos Real Rodriguez (Gallucian gaita), Sian James (harp), Tom Anderson (highland bagpipes), Kerensa (Cornish choir), An Tryskell (choir). The Lorien Festival Orchestra, Noel Eccles (percussion), Garvan Gallagher (bass guitar), Paul McAteer (drums). Orchestral arrangements by Shaun Davey. Conducted by Noel Kelehan. The vocals are in English and Welsh and Irish.

Title Author
1. St Matthew's Point (instr) Shaun Davey
2. Sailing to Amorica  Shaun Davey
3. Danse An Dro (instr) Shaun Davey
4. Briochan and Columba (instr) Shaun Davey
5. Samson Peccator Episcopus Shaun Davey
6. Storm at Sea  Shaun Davey
7. Santiago (instr) Shaun Davey
8. Ymadawiad Arthur Shaun Davey
9. Iona (instr) Shaun Davey
10. The March of The Bruce (instr) Shaun Davey
11. A'Ghrian Shaun Davey

Granuaile Running Time: ? minutes ? seconds. Recorded and released in 1985l. Rita Connolly (vocals), Liam O'Flynn (uilleann pipes and whistles), Des Moore (acoustic guitar), Helen Davies (concert harp, Irish harp), Noel Eccles (percussion), Carl Geraghty (saxophone), Marian Docherty (harpsichord), Donal Lunny (bouzouki and bodhran), Shaun Davey (vocals), 22-piece orchestra conducted by Gareth Hudson.

Title Author
1. Dubhdarra Shaun Davey
2. Ripples in the Rockpools  Shaun Davey
3. The Defence of Hens Castle Shaun Davey
4. Free and Easy Shaun Davey
5. The Rescue of Hugh De Lacy Shaun Davey
6. The Dismissal Shaun Davey
7. The Hens March Shaun Davey
8. Death of Richard-An-Iarainn (intro) Shaun Davey
9. Death of Richard-An-Iarainn Shaun Davey
10. Sir Richard Bingham Shaun Davey
11. The New Age Shaun Davey

Website (discography)

Last updated on 18/10/2010